Confessions of a Bibliophile

Crocodile Tears (Alex Rider #8)

Author: Anthony Horowitz

Rating: 3/5

After swearing to never work for M16 again, Alex finds himself doing just that when he’s caught in the middle of a terrible plot. It seems that trouble follows our favourite teenage spy everywhere. Unfortunately for him.

Spoilers ahead.

Plot and Pacing: The first third of the book was brilliant! I loved the bit where Alex, Sabina and Edward (Sabina’s father) are in a car accident and their car is submerged in water. I mean, yes, I felt bad about them but the writing was brilliant!

The party scene was a bit meh though. I knew Alex was going to win that poker game (or whatever gambling thing they were playing). Anyway, it got better from there when a journalist sort of threatens to tell Alex’s story to the whole world.

I was wondering when Horowitz was going to bring that up. I mean his actions have been more than suspicious. The way M16 handled that was cold and brutal and soooo cool. It was really vicious but the extent they go to protect their agents is quite impressive.

The field trip scene was also pretty fun. But after that, it was the same old thing. Alex gets kidnapped and yet still manages to solve the problem at the end of the day. I know that there won’t be a single book without him fixing everything but just for once, I’d really like Alex to fail.

Characters: I’ve spoken a lot about Alex in my previous reviews. I’ve got a recurring complaint about the villains: they’re all so darn childish! They all seem to take Alex for dinner, reveal all their plans and then get their minions to handle him. Also, the villains are so — what’s the word? — ridiculous.

I don’t understand why McCain had this huge thing against Alex. I get that he lost in that gambling game but was it really necessary to hate him for such a petty reason? Ugh.

Writing Style: It was fast-paced and there was a lot of detail about stuff I didn’t care about (such as the type of trees that grow in Kenya), but I enjoyed the book. Or at least I enjoyed the first third. And the rest had plenty of action so I was fine.

8 thoughts on “Crocodile Tears (Alex Rider #8)”

    1. Well, Alex Rider is growing on me. The first few books were really hard to get through but I’ve adjusted my expectations so now I enjoy them more 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Okay, first of all, while I do enjoy reading and replying to comments, I don’t appreciate you publicising your website on mine. Second, please don’t tell me what to do. I will comment and like if I want to and if your content interests me, not because you’re telling me to or because you want to have some sort of mutualistic “like/comment” relationship. Third, if you actually bothered to take a look through my blog rather than advertising your own, you’d have noticed that I already have a review for “Snakehead”.
      Have a good day/night depending on which part of the world you’re in.

      Like

      1. I am sorry if my comment OFFENDED you.I had no such intention.You know what I have had people leaving such comments on my blog in the past and that’s probably the reason I didn’t think of this as a big issue.Youdont need to take this so personally.I don’t know u but it really seems that you have some problems.

        Like

        1. Your comment did not offend me. I believe that blogs are a place to read each other’s work and offer comments of support or feedback, not to use as an advertising platform which is what you were using it for. Also, yes I have problems. In fact, I’m sure you have problems too. We’re humans after all and humans are flawed creatures. (I’m preferring to ignore the rude message you’re insinuating because I think it’s the polite thing to do.) Anyway, perhaps you should stand up to those bloggers who are posting their websites on your blog — they shouldn’t be doing so.

          Like

Leave a comment