Confessions of a Bibliophile

The Left Hand of Darkness

Author: Ursula K. Le Guin

Rating: 2/5

Genly Ai has been sent as an Envoy to Winter aka the planet Gethen to persuade them to join the Ekumen (sort of an intergalactic United Nations without as many rules). In order to do so, he must overcome the cultural barrier and accustom himself to their “normal.” And he has a play with politics. Which doesn’t go down very well.

Spoilers ahead.

Detailed Summary

The book starts with a parade (a day before an audience with the king) and introduces us to Genly Ai (although not by name). He’s been on Gethen for two years as an Envoy. His goal is to persuade Argaven, the king of Karmide (one of the two major countries on Gethen), to join the Ekumen. The prime minister of Karhide, Estraven, invites Genly to dinner and tells him he can’t support Genly any longer. But he has managed to get Genly an audience with the king. Genly distrusts Estraven because the latter is acting really strangely. Also, Genly is actually referred to as Ai but I like the name “Genly” better.

Anyway, Estraven is exiled the next day and branded as a traitor (though for what crime I’m not sure–something about a land dispute?). Argaven tells Genly that there’s no way Karhide is joining the Ekumen. Genly travels around Karhide and goes to the Fastness where the people of Handdarrata live (it’s kind of a religion). Genly meets Faxe the Foreteller (or weaver) and he asks whether Gethen will join Ekumen in five years. The Foretellers say yes.

Genly receives an invite to Orgoreyn (another country) thanks to some behind-the-scenes work by Estraven. The former prime minister had fled and been picked up from this labour camp or something of that sort. Things seem to be going well for once at Orgoreyn and the politicians seem to be on Genly’s side. But Estraven warns Genly and tells him (in nicer terms) to not be a dum-dum and blindly trust the politicians. Genly distrusts Estraven and so, doesn’t heed his warning. The next day (or something), he’s arrested and dumped into a truck and taken to another labour farm. He’s drugged to stop him from going into kemmer (even though he’s not androgynous or from Gethen). He becomes very sick.

Then Estraven swoops in and takes him away. They travel through snowy plains for eighty or so days. Estraven buys supplies and steals the rest. They become good friends. Genly even teaches Estraven mindspeak and Estraven hears him as Arek (his brother with whom he had a child with). They finally cross the cold landscape and reach a town (I think) near the border of Karhide and Orgoreyn. Genly radios for his ship to come. Estraven is betrayed by a friend and Argaven’s new prime minister, Tibe, has sent his people after him. Estraven tries to run to Orgoreyn’s border even though there are people guarding it and is killed. Genly is imprisoned. A bunch of political stuff happens. Faxe, somehow, ends up as a politician. Argaven agrees to join the Ekumen. Genly’s Ekumen ship lands. Everything’s all well and good.

Genly travels to Estre (where Estraven comes from). He meets Sorve, Estraven’s son (with his brother). Genly gives them Estraven’s journals and he’s asked to tell the story of what happened and about the people from the stars.

Plot and Pacing: I really wanted to like this book. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about it and before writing this review, I perused Goodreads but couldn’t find many reviews which said anything bad about this book. The book dragged a LOT. The only parts which I really enjoyed were the supplementary chapters with folktales and that explanation in Chapter 7 about how kemmer worked.

I found kemmer to be quite interesting and the race that Le Guin imagined was pretty damn cool. I’ve never really thought about those urges people have, you know, the ones that involve beds. I think having those urges happening only once a month (approximately) would result in a more focused and work-oriented society. What I found annoying was how almost all the characters were referred to as “he” when they had no gender. The gender identity theme was also intriguing. I’ve learnt about gender being a social construct in Psychology (there was this horrendous and cruel case study done on twins which we learnt about in great detail) so it was interesting to see that play out in sci-fi. There was this part where Le Guin writes, “What is the first thing we ask when a child is born?” (or something to that extent) and the answer is gender. We’re all so caught up with gender to the point where our behaviour is influenced by the societal’s standards of our so-called genders. Le Guin flips that around on Gethen where because there is no gender (well, there is, but only during kemmer), there’s a lot more room for equality. Reading about it also makes you realise just how big a deal gender is on Earth. It’s slightly disheartening but I guess self-awareness is the first step to making the world a better place.

As for the rest of the story, I just didn’t care for it. I didn’t like the protagonist much. I felt no connection to Genly. I didn’t care about whether or not Gethen joined the Ekumen. I wasn’t rooting for anyone. Honestly, I was quite bored with the book. I even skimmed a few parts because I was bored. And I dreaded reading because I knew I had to finish this book. I was disappointed because The Earthsea Cycle is one of my favourite fantasy series (go Ged!) and I was expecting more.

Also, I was expecting the romance between Genly and Estraven to be a more prevalent storyline. I swear I was holding my breath when Estraven was going through his kemmer phase (is that how you refer to it?). That reminds me, one of my favourite parts of the book was when Genly tells Argaven that Estraven served mankind, not just his country or his planet. I liked that because lately, with university looming in the near future and tuition fees for those universities costing a FORTUNE, I’ve been questioning whether anything we do in the world–all the political agendas, all the prep at school, everything–has the objective of creating a better generation of humanity. I don’t think we are so reading the quote was quite heartwarming. I’m just going to add it in here for future reference. Here goes.

“And a fine lot you chose to blab to there, you tow. He tried to get the Orgota to receive your Mission. He was working with their Open Traders all along. You’ll tell me that was not betrayal?”

“It was not. He knew that, whichever nation first made alliance with the Ekumen, the other would follow soon: as it will: as Sith and Perunter and the Archipelago will also follow, until you find unity. He loved his country very dearly, sir, but he did not serve it, or you. He served the master I serve.”

“The Ekumen?” said Argaven, startled.

“No. Mankind.”

As I spoke I did not know if what I said was true. True in part; an aspect of the truth. It would be no less true to say that Estraven’s acts had risen out of pure personal loyalty, a sense of responsibility and friendship towards one single human being, myself. Nor would that be the whole truth.

Ahhh, how nice.

I still don’t understand why Estraven ran right into that border patrol. Or guards. Or whatever the heck they’re called.

Characters: I didn’t really feel anything for any of the characters. I liked Estraven because of the way he saved Genly from that labour farm place. He also seemed very calm and composed most of the time. And of course, I liked that he had the greater good in mind. Genly seemed very determined which I admired. Faxe was pretty awesome but I have no idea how or why he chose to become a politician. That’s really all. I couldn’t connect to any of the characters and they seemed to be very shallow. I’ve read that many people have called this a plot-driven book and I do agree with that. The only character development is of Genly when he becomes more open-minded about Gethenians and that’s only a teeny-tiny part of the book. Unfortunately.

Writing Style: I didn’t enjoy the writing at all. I was bored most of the time. And I already mentioned how I dreaded reading. There’s really nothing else to mention here. The main reason why I gave this book a 2/5 was because of the writing. On the bright side, my copy of the book was super old and it smelled really good so I was able to focus on that when the plot got too boring.

2 thoughts on “The Left Hand of Darkness”

Leave a comment