Confessions of a Bibliophile

The Princess Saves Herself in This One (Women Are Some Kind of Magic #1)

Author: Amanda Lovelace

Rating: 2/5

A poetry collection that’s sort of autobiographical?

Spoilers ahead.

Somewhat Detailed Summary (I mean, how do you even summarise poetry?)

There are four sections: the princess, the damsel, the queen and you. The princess is about Lovelace’s younger life. The damsel is about the “big bad wolf” and dragons who’ve antagonised her. It also discusses the death of her mother and sister. The queen is about the princess standing up to the dragon and how she deals with sadness after her mother’s death. And falling in love! You is about encouraging the reader to do their own thing.

Review: how to write poetry

just

hit

enter

as

many

times

as you

can

and screw

punctuation

no one liked

them

anyway

 

also

don’t capitalise

the letter i

because

it’s

mean

 

do

you

like

my

poem

In all fairness, this book wasn’t all that bad. There were random fragments here and there that I really liked like,

silence has always been my loudest scream

and,

sticks & stones never broke my bones, but words made me starve myself until you could see all of them

which really struck a chord with me and this,

When I had
no friends
I reached inside
my beloved
books
& sculpted some
out of
12 pt
Times new roman.

which I found relatable as hell.

I guess I was hoping for more substance rather than pretty words strung together.

2 thoughts on “The Princess Saves Herself in This One (Women Are Some Kind of Magic #1)”

Leave a comment