Confessions of a Bibliophile

A Quick & Easy Guide to Asexuality

Authors and Illustrators: Molly Muldoon and Will Hernandez

Rating: 2/5

Thank you to NetGalley for providing me with an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review!

Honestly, it’s what the title says.

Spoilers ahead.

Gah, I’m so conflicted about this book! On one hand, I think it’s so important that there is more awareness about asexuality because there’s not much representation in popular media and is so frequently misunderstood. However, I can’t help feeling this comic had so much potential and ultimately let me down. I think the biggest issue is it’s not clear who the target audience is. I get that it’s meant to be accessible to all ages and that’s why the comic format works so well–it’s short and easy to read. But I felt it was a very superficial account of asexuality and only made me feel more confused than ever. If it was aimed at an audience of 13+, I think the authors would have been able to explore a lot more about asexuality.

So, the authors explain how asexuality means not feeling any sexual attraction. There’s a Split Attraction Model where romance is on one axis and sexuality on the other. Asexual people are lower on the sexuality axis but that doesn’t mean they’re not into romance. Aromantics are the other way around. Obviously, this works on a spectrum so you’ve got lots of people in between hence the term “grey-a.” So, my biggest confusion is what exactly IS sexual attraction? Do people really just walk around, see supermegafoxyawesomehot people and go, “I want to have sex with THAT person RIGHT HERE, RIGHT NOW?” Because that is CRAZY. I don’t understand what the difference between romantic and sexual attraction is. I thought wanting to have sex with someone was under the blanket of romance. But now I’ve been told it isn’t? Plus, I was raised to believe that having sex shouldn’t be the primary goal in a relationship but this book almost makes it sound like everyone is horny 24/7.

I’ve not ever been a fan of labels. Personally, I feel they restrict me though I totally understand how, for others, they can open up a new facet of self-awareness and belonging. I think the most important message this book contains is to be respectful and empathetic towards others who are navigating their sexualities and gender. Like, if someone feels more confident in identifying as a bi demisexual being, who am I to judge? I do wish more people would adopt that attitude.

Anyway, I do feel I’ve come across as very crass in this review. That wasn’t my intention at all. I’m really glad we’re seeing more awareness being raised about asexuality. I feel this comic could have done more in terms of clarifying a few important details that really drill the message home.

1 thought on “A Quick & Easy Guide to Asexuality”

Leave a comment