Confessions of a Bibliophile

A Thousand Mornings

Author: Mary Oliver

Rating: 2/5

A poetry collection about nature. Oh, and there are a few cute ones about Percy the dog!

Spoilers ahead.

Review

Keeping this one short because I was a little underwhelmed. I knew I had to read this poetry collection because John Green had mentioned it in a vlogbrothers video. It started off really strong by which I mean I loved the first poem:

I GO DOWN TO THE SHORE

I go down to the shore in the morning
and depending on the hour the waves
are rolling in or moving out,
and I say, oh, I am miserable,
what shall—
what should I do? And the sea says
in its lovely voice:
Excuse me, I have work to do.

And as I said above, there were some sweet poems about dogs but on the whole, I didn’t feel particularly touched by this collection. Yes, the writing is very pretty but it didn’t tug at my heartstrings. It’s a shame, I really thought I’d like this one more. I definitely am in the minority here so perhaps take this review with an ocean full of salt.

13588404

Leave a comment